Art and Dance Classes for all ages in Utica

I love Munson Williams Art Institute! Every time I walk their campus I feel young … we’ll at least in my head I pretend;-). My middle son (8) and my daughter (5) took their Artbox Classes last summer and are bugging me already to sign them up again.

The kids spent the first two weeks painting and drawing, and the last two weeks working in clay. The class was Monday through Thursday for 2.5 hours each morning. At the end of the 4 weeks, all the students put on an exhibition of their work in the same gallery the full time art students use to exhibit.  Grandma and Great Aunt Connie came and the kids were proud as peacocks!

I looked to see if the Summer class schedule was up on their website yet, but I don’t see it.  Instead I found their Spring Program which although it is too late to take those courses, will give you a feel for the types of classes they offer. Tuition was about $200 per kid. Also, I must say the parents I met there were some of the nicest and most down to earth I have met in a long time.

My daughter also took the beginning ballet class.  I must warn you – this is a serious dance class.  Don’t get me wrong, the girls had a wonderful time – loved it!  But these are dance instructors at an arts college and their passion and professionalism shines and the students respond to it appropriately.

Mine is the one with the skirt…we soon found out you should not wear skirts!! We quickly fixed that.  Also, we bought the cheap ballet shoes at Target….this is a No-No.  But the nice part was they had a drawer full of ballet shoes prior students had outgrown and donated and they let us borrow those.

Leave a Reply

