So…how was summer camp?

How was 7 weeks without my oldest son?  Not bad.  For either of us.  Camp Treetops was EVERYTHING I expected!  My son loved it.  I will definitely be sending my second son the summer between 6th & 7th grade.  This was the perfect transition.  And check out how great he looks after!

Day we dropped him off at camp

Day we dropped him off at camp

 

These are the cabins they sleep in. Maximum 4 campers per cabin.

These are the cabins they sleep in. Maximum 4 campers per cabin.

 

Lake

Private lake at camp where he swam everyday.

 

Vegetable gardens (one of many gardens they have)

Vegetable gardens (one of many gardens they have)

Taken after 3 weeks at camp.  He's looks great.

Taken after 3 weeks at camp. He’s looks great.

 

He wove that himself on a loom.

He wove that himself on a loom.

 

End of Summer

End of Summer

He sent me letters quite often in the beginning, but it petered out as he got more comfortable.  He doesn’t want to go back this summer and that’s ok.  It did what I wanted.  It gave him more self confidence and that’s all I could ask for. This year I think I might send him to Supercamp. It is a one week motivation/study skills camp held in various locations.  The closest for us would be held at Brown University on Rhode Island.  I think he could gain some skills to help him succeed in middle school.  He’s done great this year and he is a very responsible kid – but I think this would give him a boost.  I have my other son, Nick, already signed up for a couple of ID Tech classes.  He wants to learn how to make games for the iPhone.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

